... E poi lo chiamarono il magnifico


EAN13: 8032628991363

Release date: 28 June 2009

Maurizio De Angelis, Guido De Angelis

Digitmovies continues its journey through the Italian Western territory by re-issuing on CD the OST of the mythical De Angelis brothers for the movie "E poi lo chiamarono il magnifico" (aka "Man of the East") directed in 1972 by E.B.Clucher (real name Enzo Barboni) and starring the magnificent Terence Hill after the success of the two previous Trinity movies. The film tells the story of the young Viscount Sir Thomas Moore (Hill), a polite English guy who goes to America to take possession of the inheritance left over from his father. He finds himself in the Wild West and falls in love with the young daughter of a landowner who is already courted by another cowboy. Three friends of the deceased parent shall teach him to shoot so that he can compete with his rival in a duel for the beloved one. After Franco Micalizzi had written the music for the first Trinity movie and Guido & Maurizio De Angelis for its sequel, the two musician brothers were recruited again to write a new original score that was issued in those days on an LP (Smash SM 901) with 18 tracks and a duration of about 41minutes and also on a 45 rpm single (Smash SM 6001) with two tracks. In 2002 this very beautiful OST was re-issued for the first time on a CD (Hexacord GDM 2034) which did contain the same album material taken directly from the LP stereo master. By watching the movie again we have realized that some extra music was featured there which had never been made available before. So we have searched for the original recording session master tapes which were recently rescued in very good condition and in full stereo: This gave us the chance to add eight unreleased tracks (about 15 minutes). A note for collectors and audiophiles: For this ultimate edition we did not use the album master assembled in 1972 (used for the previous CD), but we were able to digitally recreate the original album mock-up's sequence/editing with all the takes taken directly from the stereo session tapes. And this new version has a really improved sound quality. The main theme is called "Don't lose control", a romantic-epic theme with country-pop flavour performed by Gene Roman in Tr. 1,9,12 and reprised as an instrumental version played by a large orchestra in Tr.3, Tr.5 , Tr.16 and Tr.18 (the actual Main Titles). The De Angelis brothers have succeded in recreating the whole Western atmosphere by alternating classic Western-flavoured themes (Tr.2,Tr.19) with soft ones like the romantic love theme “Tema di Candida" (Tr.4,Tr.17) or "Jesus come to my heart", a Gospel with sacred flavour vocalized by the Nora Orlandi choir (Tr.8).

... E poi lo chiamarono il magnifico

1. Don't lose control (vocal) (03:26)
2. Sfida in paese (02:27)
3. Il giorno dei cavalli bianchi (01:24)
4. Tema di Candida (03:30)
5. Don't lose control (03:26)
6. Arrivo in treno (01:20)
7. Tom e Candida al fiume (01:01)
8. Jesus come (to my heart) (03:21)
9. Don't lose control (vocal reprise) (02:48)
10. Arrivo in paese (02:33)
11. I quattro amici (01:11)
12. Don't lose control (vocal reprise #2) (02:09)
13. The killers (01:04)
14. Tom in paese (01:18)
15. Tema di Candida (#2) (03:29)
16. Il giorno dei cavalli bianchi (#2) (01:24)
17. Tema di Candida (#3) (01:01)
18. Don't lose control (titoli) (03:25)
19. The killers (#2) (02:03)
20. Don't lose control (guitar) (01:27)
21. I quattro amici (#2) (01:31)
22. Jesus come (to my heart) (#2) (00:38)
23. Arrivo in paese (#2) (01:18)
24. ...e poi lo chiamarono il Magnifico (04:11)
25. Sfida in paese (#2) (01:01)
26. I quattro amici (#3) (02:22)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.